Free Traffic vs. Paid Traffic

The most important aspect of every business is traffic. Without traffic, you can have the best product in the world but you’ll make no money.

As soon as you start looking out for traffic you have a decision to make: free traffic or paid traffic?

In this article, I’ll have a look at the advantages and disadvantages of paid and free traffic sources. However, here it is important to mention that the most important aspect of traffic is quality.

Free traffic

Examples of free traffic sources are for example SEO or social media (see here the 5 best free traffic sources).

Advantages

Free Traffic

The biggest advantage of free traffic is of course that it is free. If you don’t count the number of hours you have to work for it, free traffic can have a very high return on invest (ROI).

Let’s say you pay $50 per year for hosting and you make $500 the first year on that website. That means you have an ROI of 1,000%! That’s amazing compared to the ROI of the stock market which is between 5-7%.

No Limit

As you are not paying for the traffic it doesn’t matter if you get 100 visitors or 1,000 visitors. There is no ad spend limit that can stop you from getting more traffic.

Disadvantages

That looks great, doesn’t it? But of course, free traffic also has its disadvantages.

Takes time to build

The biggest problem with free traffic sources is that it takes a lot of time to build these traffic sources. In SEO it can take 3-6 months before you get your first clicks!

That’s a lot of time compared to paid traffic where you can get the first traffic within minutes.

Even if you focus on other sources like forum commenting. As you need time to start engaging with the forum members you can’t get traffic right away.

Hard to scale / control

As the control of free traffic sources is usually in the hand of other companies (Google, Facebook) it is hard to control and scale the traffic. You can’t raise your traffic by 50% if you want to have more.

In addition, it is hard to forecast the traffic in the future. You can only keep building your ranking/social media page and hope that next month you’ll have more traffic but there is no guarantee.

Paid traffic

There are many different paid traffic sources. The biggest paid traffic sources are Google Adwords, Facebook Ads, and Bing Ads.

Advantages

Fast

One of the greatest benefits of paid traffic is that it is really fast. You can submit an ad and get the first traffic within the next minutes.

That makes it easy to test landing pages or sales pages and get a winner really quickly. Also, you can easily see whether a product works for this market or if it doesn’t.

Controllable

If you have a running PPC campaign you always know how much clicks you’ll get and how much you pay for every click. If you don’t get banned you’ll get this amount of clicks every day as long as you pay for it.

That really makes it easy to control your outcome and your income.

Scalable

If you have found a profitable PPC campaign you can easily scale that campaign. Let’s say you have a campaign where you invest $100 per month and you get $200 out the next month.

If you would invest $1,000 the next month you would earn $2,000. If you would invest $10,000 you would earn $20,000 etc.

Disadvantages

Need the knowledge to be profitable

In order to build a profitable campaign, you need to be very skilled. You need to know exactly for which keywords you want to pay and have a deeper knowledge of your market and your audience.

Especially if you work in markets with a higher competition you really need to know what you are doing to make the right choices.

I’m sure if you start a PPC campaign as a beginner you would lose money at first. However, if you keep improving and growing it will be possible for you to build a successful online marketing campaign.

Can be very complex

Should you pay for every impression or every click? What does remarketing mean? How can I see the conversions?

That are usually the questions from beginners when they come to paid traffic. I think that before you invest any money in traffic you should at first learn more about the traffic sources.

Here I can recommend the books of Perry Marshall. If you want to learn more about Google Ads I can recommend the Ultimate Guide to Google AdWords. If you want to learn more about Facebook Ads I can recommend the Ultimate Guide to Facebook Advertising.

So how should you start?

It is always a good idea to work on more than one traffic source. If your traffic is only coming from one traffic source you are very dependent and your business could crash very fast.

Also, I would mix up free traffic sources and paid traffic sources. The more traffic you can get the more money you can earn!

So for example, you can start with building SEO traffic and add a Google AdWords campaign at the same moment. That way, you already have the first traffic with AdWords and you can build trust and authority by creating content at the same time.

If you are able to convert your traffic into buyers you can start scaling your PPC campaign if you want to.

Conclusion

As you can see the best way is to combine paid and free traffic sources. However, each of these traffic sources have ad- and disadvantages and you as an online entrepreneur have to decide whether you want to work on this traffic source or not.

Now I want to hear more from you! What do you think about that? Would you add any ad- or disadvantages?

The 5 Best Free Traffic Sources In 2018

Many beginners in online marketing don’t want to invest any money in paid traffic. And that’s totally fine.

Because when you start your career in online marketing you usually don’t have a lot of knowledge when it comes to marketing.

And if you are paying for traffic you need to know how to convert your traffic into buyers.

If you don’t know how to do that you are paying a lot of money you don’t get back. That’s why I recommend to start with free traffic and later, if you have more knowledge, to add paid traffic sources.

Here is a list of my top free traffic sources:

Source #1: SEO

One of the best free traffic sources is search engine optimization (SEO) (see here the advantages and disadvantages of SEO). SEO traffic is very great because it is highly targeted. That means if someone clicks on your article they already typed in a keyword they are searching more information about.

And if you can provide value to that keyword you may convert that visitor into a buyer.

In order to get traffic from SEO you have to make a lot of work in advance (create a lot of valuable content) but later on you can get more than enough traffic.

If you want to know more about SEO I can recommend the training of Wealthy Affiliate (see here). They show you step-by-step how to build up traffic with SEO.

Source #2: Social Media

Another great traffic source is traffic from social media. That can be traffic from Facebook, Pinterest, Twitter, Google+etcct.

The key to get traffic from social media is to provide value. That does apply to all social media channels.

Your content should be interesting, it should be entertaining, it should be useful or it should be inspiring.

You’ll not get a lot of traffic by only promoting your own content. Think about it this way:

Why should anyone follow my profile/page?

Do you provide useful information or is most of your content useless? The better you can answer this question the more people will follow your page!

Instagram can also be a great source of traffic. With the right tool, it is easy to build up a huge base of followers.

Source #3: Forum commenting

Type in your niche into Google and add “forum”. I’m sure you’ll find many different forums in your niche.

Forum commenting can be a huge source of traffic if it’s done the right way. If you join a new forum you shouldn’t start posting your links all over the forum. I’m sure you’ll be banned within minutes.

If you really want to build traffic you have to engage with the community and help people with their problems. In some forums, you can add a signature. Here you can place a link to your website.

The more helpful content you’ll post the more people will see your link and the more people will visit your website.

This way is also great to build up authority.

Source #4: Writing guest articles

There are many blogs that offer you to write guest articles. That means if you send them an article they’ll post it on their website. Sometimes they make it for free and sometimes you have to pay some money.

The bigger the blog is (the more traffic it has) the harder it will be to publish a free guest article. However, maybe 9 out of 10 will not post your article for free but maybe the 10th so never stop asking!

If you were able to publish your guest post you have immediate access to their audience. If they like your article they will visit your website for sure! That way you can get a great source of traffic and a strong backlink.

Source #5 Blog Commenting

You can also build a great source of traffic by commenting on other blogs. Again, it is important to provide value. If you write “Great post” you’ll not receive any clicks at all.

But if you can provide additional value to the article or if you can ask a great question you get people to click on your link.

Don’t forget to add a profile picture with Gravatar and a link your website! Of course, you’ll not get hundreds of clicks with a single comment but you can build up a great source if you work daily on that!

Conclusion

As you can see there are great sources of free traffic. You should always know that free traffic takes some time to build.

But if you are willing to put in the time these can be great sources and traffic!

What is your favorite source of free traffic? Or maybe did I forget one? I would love to hear from you so please leave a comment below!

SEO – Advantages and Disadvantages

There are a lot of discussions about Search Engine Optimization (SEO).

The one side thinks that SEO is the best strategy to build an online business while the other side thinks that SEO is a waste of time.

But who is right?

What is SEO?

The goal of Search Engine Optimization is to rank your website high on search engines like Google.

That is achieved by creating valuable content for specific keywords. The more content you have the more websites Google can index and the more traffic you can have.

Advantages

Let’s at first have a look at the advantages of SEO.

Free source traffic

I believe that is one of the best arguments for SEO. You don’t have to pay anything for your traffic.

That’s also a reason why so many people try to succeed with SEO at the beginning of their online marketing career. You don’t have to invest any money (besides website hosting) and you can already earn your first money.

If you think about it that can be a very effective method. Let’s say you pay $50 per year for website hosting and you earn $500 the first year. That doesn’t sound like a lot but compared to your input you 10X your investment!

Compared to the return on investments in the stock marketing (usually between 5-10%) that’s more than 10 times more effective than investing in stocks!

Targeted traffic

Another great benefit of SEO traffic is that the traffic is highly targeted. As the user is already searching for a specific keyword on Google they show interest in a specific topic.

If you now can provide value and show them that you are an expert in your niche you can convert these people into your buyers.

High potential

There are over 3.5 billion searches on Google every day! That is a huge potential for traffic.

Of course, not everyone is searching for information in your niche, but there is more than enough traffic in your niche! If you want to you can use the free Google Keyword Planner and search for the volume of keywords.

For example, the keyword “banana cake recipes” has between 10,000 and 100,000 searches every month! And believe me, the people on the first site of Google for this keyword don’t have a problem earning money 😉

Disadvantages

Besides all these great benefits there are also some disadvantages of SEO we want to have a look at.

Takes a lot of time

The common mistakes people do at SEO is that they think that they can get a lot of traffic within the first month. However, if you have a brand new website it can take between 3-6 months to get your first traffic.

And that really depends on your niche! If you are in a niche with a lot of competition (like earning money online or weight loss) it can take much longer to get a good amount of traffic.

That’s also one of the reasons why people quit early. They set up a website, write posts for 2 months, they don’t see any results and they quit before even Google recognizes their website.

This is compared to paid traffic where you can get your first traffic within minutes a very long and demanding road.

The reason why this process takes that long is very obvious. Google needs to know if your content is valuable and helpful before they help you getting traffic.

Takes a lot of work

As I said it takes minimum 3-6 months to get the first results of Google. In this time you have to stay active and post new posts regularly.

Only if you keep updating your website Google will give you more and more traffic.

As I said, one of the advantages is that the traffic of Google is free. However, you have to put in a lot of work to get that free traffic. That means you don’t have to invest any money but a lot of time.

You could hire a writer to outsource the content creation but that questions the advantage of the free traffic. Maybe it would be more effective to pay for traffic instead of paying a writer but that is a decision you have to make as an online entrepreneur.

Controllability

One of the biggest disadvantages of SEO is the controllability. You can’t control the amount of traffic you get from Google. That may be 10 clicks today and 50 clicks tomorrow.

That makes it really hard to build a reliable business if your only focus is on SEO. There are stories about online businesses that crashed with a Google update.

I heard from one business that went from $10,000/month to $400/ month within one month. The reason for that was a Google update that destroyed the ranking of that website.

I believe that you can’t say you have a successful online business if your only traffic source is SEO. As I said from one day to another it can happen that your earnings shrink.

A good way to avoid that problem is to build other traffic sources. This can be paid sources like Google Adwords or Facebook Ads or other free traffic sources like Facebook or Pinterest.

I believe that the best way is to try to convert the SEO traffic into email marketing leads. That way you can create a huge email list and be independent of Google updates. If you want to know how to start with email marketing you can check out this post with 8 steps to email marketing.

Conclusion

I believe that SEO can be a great way to build a huge source of free traffic. However, you should be careful to also build on other traffic sources so you’ll be independent of Google updates.

Also always you should have a look at the big picture and not think that 30 posts will give you a huge amount of traffic. Have a look at website with a lot of SEO traffic. They usually have more than 150-200 posts and create new content every day!

If you want to learn more about SEO I can recommend the Wealthy Affiliate. In this training program, you’ll learn how to build a website based on SEO and how to earn money with it! (Click here to check it out)

What has been your experience with SEO? Do you think SEO is great or do you think otherwise? I would love to hear from you so please leave a comment below!

The number one traffic source

In this article, you’ll discover the best traffic source for your online business. As you may already know there are several different traffic sources. And I believe you should have as many different sources as possible.

However, I believe there is one form of marketing which can make you independent. This can make you financially as well as location independent. It also makes you independent from decisions of companies like Facebook or Google.

The in my eyes best form of marketing is email marketing.

Why email marketing?

SEO is a great source of traffic. However, if Google changes your algorithm it can happen that your rank shrinks and your traffic drops. And there is nothing you can do about it.

The same applies to Facebook. If they reduce the appearance of the posts of business sites you have fewer interactions and reach. And also traffic.

However, if you have an email list you are independent of these companies. You can contact them at every time.

Big companies like Amazon make over 80% of their sales over email marketing! This is why I recommend email marketing to everyone.

Blogging is a great way to escape your 9-5 job but I believe that you can’t get rich only with blogging. But you can get rich with a blog and email marketing. Why? Let me explain that.

The bigger your list the higher the income

Once you have acquired an email address you can promote to them a lifetime. For free! That is totally different from PPC. If you promote your websites with PPC you have to pay for every visitors. Every time.

An email list is also a great way to build trust. If someone comes to your websites read an article and leaves he may never come back. But if you have his email address you can send them several emails. For example, you can tell them who you are and what you do.

For example, you can tell them who you are and what you do. Then you can continue with content that could be helpful to them. This will build trust. If you now promote a product to your lead the conversion ratio will be much higher than on your website.

The more leads you are collecting the higher you income can be. Of course, this really depends on the quality of your leads but it is said that you can earn around $1 per lead per month. That means if you have 1,000 leads you can make around $1,000 per month.

That also means that you can make around $10,000 per month with 10,000 leads.

Money at a press of a button

Have you heard from people that earned over $20,000 a day? This is not very unlikely if you have a huge email list. Let me explain that with an example:

Let’s say you have a list with 10,000 leads. And you have a product which will give you $200 for every sale.

Now you send out an email and 50% will open your mail. Of these 5,000 email opener 10% click on the link in your email and come to your sales page. That means you have 500 visitors on your sales page.

As they already know you and you have gained trust it is not unlikely that you’ll have a conversion rate of 20%. With 20% of 500 visitors, you have 100 sales. Each sale brings you $200 that means 100*$200 = $20,000!

Of course, all the numbers vary but it should give you an overview of the power of email marketing.

How to build a huge email list

To build a huge email list you need to have different elements.

Freebie

Nobody is giving away his email address for free. You need something they want to have and they are willing to give their email address for. This is called a “freebie”.

A freebie can be a pdf-report, an email course, a coupon, or anything like that. Get creative and think about what your target group wants to know or how you can help your target group. The better your freebie can help your target group the higher will be your conversion rate (number of people signing up).

Optin-page

The optin-page or also called landing page or squeeze page is a page with the goal of getting the email address from the visitor. They usually contain a compelling headline some text and a call to action (button).

On your landing page, you should present your freebie and how it can help your target group. There are many different ways to build a landing page. The fastest way I think is if you use the LandingPage creator within GetResponse.

As you need an email marketing tool it is beneficial to use the LandingPage creator.

Autoresponder

If you want to know what an autoresponder is and how it can help you check out this article.

With an autoresponder, you can start building trust. And you can do that fully automated. Every good email marketing tool has an autoresponder. As I already told you, I’m using GetReponse and I can totally recommend it to everyone!

The first mail should deliver the freebie you promised them. The following emails should deliver content and build trust between you and your audience. After 1-2 weeks of building a relationship and trust, you can send out promotional emails.

Traffic

The most important aspect is your traffic. You could have the best freebie in the world but still have no sign ups. So you need traffic. One form of traffic is SEO but SEO takes a lot of time and effort.

I can recommend to you two different forms of instant traffic. Have a look here and here. With the help of these two methods, you can start building you email list very fast.


I believe that email marketing should be the foundation of every online business. It makes you more independent from companies like Google and Facebook and I can make you financially independent much faster.

I hope you can see now how important it is to use email marketing. Do you already use email marketing? What experiences have you made? Just leave me a comment below 🙂

YouTube: A huge source of traffic

When you start learning about internet marketing, you’ll find that there are a lot of different subjects for you to tackle. These include the likes of SEO, of social media marketing, of writing press releases and more. You’ll have to learn about autoresponders and email marketing, about how affiliate marketing and about link building.

But something that often gets overlooked is video creation. This is strange, bearing in mind that video can have an incredibly profound impact on your brandís visibility as well as your sales and is one of the most effective ways to stand out.

So why do people tend to ignore it? One possible answer is simply that it is too complicated and difficult for many people to understand ñ so they’d rather just overlook it!

Why Video is SO Important for Your Internet Marketing

But it’s this difficulty that makes video production such a powerful marketing tool. Simply put, anyone can create a blog and anyone can create a sales page. When you build either of these things, you could still just be someone working from their Mum’s basement.

Video creation, on the other hand, requires expertise and expensive equipment. To make high-quality videos, you will need a good camera, a great lighting set-up, a good microphone, editing software and know-how. All of this communicates that you are a serious business with serious money to invest and that professional sheen is what will inspire trust in your visitors.

What’s more, is that video allows you to talk directly to your audience and to use both your own voice and music to persuade them to make a purchase. Video is naturally more engaging and it makes people feel as though they know you, all of which is incredibly useful from a marketing perspective.

When creating video there are several ways you can use it as part of a marketing campaign. One is to add a video to your homepage or your sales page. Either of these things will help you to immediately grab attention and increase conversions. Another option is to create a YouTube channel. This makes it very easy to reach a big audience and can even be highly profitable on its own. A video getting 100,000 views a month can easily earn you in the region of $200!

How to Get Started

To get started, you will need to invest in a small amount of equipment. You need a camera with good autofocus and the ability to record in at least 1080p at 30fps (ideally better on both fronts). Even more important is good lighting, so invest in a soft box or another professional lighting solution.

The smartphones of today already have a very good camera so if you have one of the newest smartphones you don’t have to invest in a camera. If you want to raise the quality of your videos you have to buy a professional camera, but the smartphone should be enough at the beginning.

Sound is also very important. An H1 pocket recorder paired with a lav mic will make a big difference at a low price point. You’ll then need to edit all this together in a piece of editing software such as Adobe Premiere Pro.

It all sounds a lot but trust me, it is more than worth the investment in terms of what you’ll get back out of it!

How to write a SEO friendly article

Ask 100 people and you will probably get 100 different answers. The problem is that a lot of marketing experts are still stuck in the past when it comes to the best strategies for getting a post to the top of Google and this results in a lot of low-quality content and a lot of wasted time.

The best way to make an article SEO-friendly is actually quite simple, so read on and let’s dive into what you need to know!

Provide Value

To understand how to write the best SEO-friendly article, it pays to get inside the mindset of Google a little. What is Google trying to achieve?

The answer is simple: it wants to serve its users by linking them to the very highest quality and most relevant content that it can find.

Thus, any signals that you can send to Google to show that your content is high quality and relevant, will ultimately result in a boost to your SEO. The question is just how you go about doing that.

One example is to include outward bound links to other useful resources, relevant to the content of your site. This shows Google that you’re interested in providing as much information as possible to your readers, it aligns you with high-quality sites and it provides references to back up your claims (suggesting accuracy).

But what this shouldn’t mean is that every article needs at least two outward bound links. This is entirely missing the point as it will create a predictable pattern on your site that will look like manipulation. Link out when it is relevant and useful and don’t be cynical about it.

It’s also for this reason that Google likes to see long content of around 800 words+. While reports vary, it is generally thought that the ideal content length for SEO is approximately 1,800 words and this will improve your chances of being featured as News.

Keywords

It’s painful to see, but some SEO companies still think that a good SEO article is one that has the same keywords repeated over and over, to the detriment of the reading experience. This is one of the fastest ways to have your content flagged as spam, if not by Google, then by the human readers on your site.

Instead, keywords should be used very sparingly. A density of around 1-2% is recommended but only when that is appropriate and when it fits with the content naturally. This is one reason to write longer-form content though, as longer posts are going to have more space for repetitive keyword use.

It’s also important to recognize that synonyms and related terms are just as important, if not more so. Try to write around the subject and let related terms enter your content naturally. This is something you can expect to play a bigger and bigger role in future. If you want to know how to find keywords that are easy to rank have a look here.

Readability

Finally, space out your content and use lots of headings. Use large fonts and a narrative, user-friendly structure. This will help to keep people on your pages for longer and thatís one of the other things that Google looks for when ranking content.

When your average time on page is higher, Google tends to send more traffic to your site because your content seems useful. That means if you write articles for real users you write articles for the Google bots at the same time.

So keep your quality and your readability high and Google will reward that with lots of traffic!


As you can see it is not that hard to write SEO friendly articles. What has been your experiences? Would you add something? I would love to hear from you so leave a comment below 🙂